A Whoopie or a Whoopsie?

7 Feb

My Whoopie Pie book from Fold

When FOLD bought me (TUFT) a really pretty new Whoopie Pie bakery book for Christmas I couldn’t wait to get cracking!

Finally on Friday night I did my shopping, got the eggs and sugar in by the bucket load, pulled on my pinny, whipped out Grandma’s finest tea set and set to work.

Tea Time

Tea Time

I’ve never actually had a Whoopie before, and to be honest all this baking malarky is rather new to me. I’m not of the sweet tooth persuation either – just give me a bag of Kettle chips and I’m as happy as bee in honey – but there’s something I really enjoy about the art of baking.  Its challenging (and I like getting competitive with myself). Its such a homely relaxing task. And I love to make something big out of nothing. (Just ask my boyfriend).

There is nothing finer in this world!

I loved the name ‘Whoopie’ too – I thought to myself, this sounds like a fun, good time treat. Like the jolly ole aunt of the cupcake family; you know, the one with the mischivious glint in her eye. In fact the name comes from Amish women who baked these desserts and put them in farmers’ lunchboxes. When farmers would find the treats in their lunch, they would shout “Whoopie”! Isn’t that great?!

Best of all I get to use my precious tea sets, collected from my dear grandparents, and found from travels to China and the Far East. Everything about the whole ceremony of eating cake and drinking tea is just so refined and unbelievably pretty.

Check out those wee little spoons! Lovely gift from Jay & Gemma

So heres out my first ever Whoopie Pies turned out… or should I say Whoopsie Pies… they resemble big burgers rather than the dinky macaroon sized treats I had anticipated! Delicious nonetheless, and couldn’t have been achieved without the seasoned hand of my good friend Anna who came to tea. What a pro!

Wowzahh!

Wowzahh!

If you garnish your baking heavily with strawberries it WILL look better

If you garnish your baking heavily with strawberries it WILL look better

Ladies & Gentlemen: The Whoopie Burger!

Ladies & Gentlemen: The Whoopie Burger!

Leave a Reply

